This Friend of Mine

For about 19 years now I have had the most wonderful person in my life. She is inspirational, funny, humble, gorgeous, incredibly intelligent and an all-round beautiful person. Though, I fear she does not recognise this in herself.

 

We don’t see each other as often as we should, though our friendship has never suffered because of it. I may not see her for six months and then when we do meet, we pick up exactly where we left off, as though no time has passed at all.

 

This friend of mine has been through some truly horrific things in her life, yet she has fought her way through it and I can’t help but admire her strength and determination. 

 

Every time I see her, I have a new problem in my life, a new chapter that I am beginning, a new drama to resolve. She is there with her kind and harsh words, encouraging me to get through it and to make the right decision for me. She never forces me into a decision or tries to push her opinions on me, but listens, takes all the information and comes to a good conclusion for me. She is supportive and loyal, kind and generous. But don’t get me wrong, she can be harsh, unforgiving and bitchy. All of these make up the reasons why I truly love this woman. She has remarkable strength in her character and she is unashamed at the person she is. **God how I wish I had that strength in myself**

 

The thing with this friend is, when I am away from her I worry about her. I see her status updates and feel concern over her health, her feelings, her general state of being. When we meet, I worry some more.  There is a certain sadness in her eyes that has been there for so long now it is just a part of her. I love her for this. I look at her and wonder “How can you keep going? How do you keep it together?”. Yet she does, in her own truly magnificent ways, she holds on.

 

I wish this friend of mine would notice how utterly brilliant she is. I wish this friend of mine would see how much she means to me.

 

2 thoughts on “This Friend of Mine

Leave a Reply

