The Power of Positivity

Can a positive mind really have an effect on your life?

I’ve always been a bit sceptical about this one. Life is life after all and I am no magician. How can my thoughts influence my life? But recently I took some time out to really figure things out. I took a good hard look at my life and decided to think more positively, it can’t hurt, right?

It started by reading a blog written by a woman (Holly) who I happened to grow up with.  She has written some really inspirational posts on her page The Geordie Hippy – check it out!.

After reading one of her posts – Oh the traffics been bad…. I was inspired to start using the tips she gives to improve my everyday life. I’ll admit, I am one of those negative, self-criticising people. I love to have a go at myself and moaning is my hobby. It has took a while to see, but this is not a healthy approach to life.

My favourite out of the five tips has to be Number 1.  “When you are asked how you are, say (without hesitation) I’m good thank you, how are you? If you’re not good say ” life is a challenge right now and I’m working on some stuff, but I’m on the right track” neither a lie, just a more optimistic response

I am never honest when asked “How are you?”. Never. If I am feeling lousy, ill, stressed or upset I answer “Good thanks, you?”, but then if I feel amazing, happy, confident I answer “Not bad thanks, you?”.

I seem to have this fear of owning my own feelings.

Why, when I am feeling so happy and positive do I turn it into a negative? Why do I not want to share my positivity with those around me?

I think it is because I am worried what others might think about me being so happy (I know that sounds deluded). I worry that other people will hate me for my happiness so instead, I pretend to be merely OK to please them.

I have had my fair share of negative situations in my life, I have dealt with a significant amount of hurt, upset, anger, trauma, depression.

 

I have been looking back on all of these events in my life and wondering, if I had put a positive spin on them, would the end result still be the same? In some situations yes, it would be. You can’t change what is happening to a certain degree – but you can change how you feel about it, and how it affects your life.  But, for some of these, if I had thought more positively, I definitely think I would have coped better and been able to get more out of myself.

I can tell this is going to be a lengthy process. Bit by bit I am working through the pieces of my life and trying to think positively about each of them.

I will continue looking for inspiration wherever I may find it.  I can only hope that one day I am a positive person and others are too.

With a bit more positive thinking, our lives could be changed.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

