Stoptober

stoptober

 

OK, here we go again. The month of October is now synonymous with stopping smoking. I see it everywhere I go, in every magazine I look at, every time I turn on the TV.

This year, we have a bunch of celebs trying to make it easier to quit. It isn’t.

I signed up to Stoptober a few weeks ago, received the Quit Kit, and I am all good to go. But…I am not ready to give up smoking just yet. I don’t feel the time is right for me to even try. I have smoked for over half my life and I can’t remember what it is like to not smoke.

I get up in the morning and enjoy a cigarette with my coffee. I enjoy relaxing with a cigarette and taking those 5 minutes for myself that I often desperately need. So quitting smoking is never going to be easy for me. I actually like it. Yes, before you even think it I know of all the health risks, the financial implications etc etc. That doesn’t take away from the fact that I like smoking.

So, instead of attempting and failing to quit during Stoptober I am going to aim to cut my cigarettes down to 10 per day. (Currently I smoke between 20-40). My theory is, if I can cut down to 10 per day, when I am ready to quit for good, it will be far easier to achieve than going from 40-0.

Of course, you can always give Stoptober a go for yourself, just click here to register. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

